Whatnot's growth statistics are easier to use when each number keeps its reporting period and definition. Marketplace sales, company revenue, orders, website visits and active users answer different questions.
| Search intent | Dated answer | How to read it |
|---|---|---|
| Whatnot 2024 GMV | $3B in reported 2024 live sales | Marketplace volume, not company revenue. |
| Whatnot 2025 GMV | $8B in reported 2025 live sales | A full-year historical figure. |
| Whatnot 2026 GMV | More than $8B in first-half 2026 | A half-year figure, not a completed full-year result. |
| Whatnot valuation | $20B, August 2026 | Latest funding valuation verified in this review. |
| Whatnot revenue | No verified FY2025 recognized revenue figure established here | A reported 2026 outlook is discussed below. |
| January 2025 monthly visitors | 7.6M website visits, third-party estimate | Website visits are not MAU or app users. |
The sales anchors come from 2024 funding coverage, Whatnot's January 2026 report, and company-provided figures reported by Inc. on August 7, 2026. The website-visit estimate is attributed to Similarweb by Ecommerce Bonsai.
For the broader hub, use Whatnot statistics. For scheduling decisions, pair the company-level context with the Sports Cards and TCG timing guide and Most Crowded Times to Sell on Whatnot.
Data note: dated disclosures and estimates#
Sources were reviewed on September 11, 2026. Each figure below retains its original reporting period. Historical website traffic is labeled as a third-party estimate; a company outlook is not treated as an achieved result. We do not substitute unsupported calculations for undisclosed platform totals.
Methodology
Whatnot growth statistics methodology
Reporting periods and definitions differ across disclosures.
- Data source
- Dated Whatnot disclosures, attributed funding and company reporting, and a separately labeled third-party website-traffic estimate.
- Category scope
- Company-level Whatnot metrics, not seller-account analytics or observed category audiences.
- Coverage
Timezone
Reporting periods are stated with each figure
Sample period
Sources reviewed September 11, 2026; individual figures retain their original dates
Sample size
Published company milestones and attributed reporting
Update cadence
Reviewed when comparable new disclosures become available
- Key metrics
- GMV / live sales: Value of merchandise sold through the marketplace; not the company's recognized revenue.
- Company outlook: A forward-looking statement, not a completed annual result.
- Website visits: Visits estimated by a third party; not unique app users or monthly active users.
- Exclusions
- No private seller or company financial records are included.
- Undisclosed active-user, buyer, seller, AOV, take-rate and event totals are not estimated here.
- No seller profit, conversion or ROI is inferred from company scale.
Funding and valuation#
Whatnot announced a $545M Series G on August 7, 2026. Inc.'s contemporaneous report puts the valuation at $20B and cumulative funding at approximately $1.5B. The earlier $225M Series F and $11.5B valuation remain October 2025 milestones, not the latest round. Whatnot's announcement.
Public valuation milestones
Historical funding valuations, with August 2026 added.
GMV and live sales#
Keep the $3B 2024 and $8B 2025 live-sales figures as historical full-year anchors. The August 2026 reporting adds more than $8B in first-half 2026 GMV; it does not replace either historical year. Whatnot's Series G announcement also said sales halfway through 2026 had exceeded all of 2025.
These figures measure marketplace merchandise volume. They do not disclose Whatnot's recognized revenue, seller earnings or profit.
Revenue disclosure status#
No verified FY2025 recognized revenue figure is established by the sources reviewed here. Whatnot told Inc. it was on track to exceed $1B in annual revenue in 2026. That is a forward-looking statement, not achieved full-year 2026 revenue.
Multiplying GMV by a seller-facing fee percentage does not establish recognized company revenue. Processing fees, accounting treatment, category differences and other costs make that shortcut unsuitable for a confirmed revenue figure.
Metrics that remain undisclosed#
| Metric | Status in the verified sources reviewed |
|---|---|
| Realized company-wide take rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Company-wide average order value | Not publicly disclosed |
| Annual order count | Not publicly disclosed; cumulative orders are a different measure |
| Monthly or annual active buyers | Not publicly disclosed |
| Monthly or annual active users (MAU / AAU) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Monthly or annual active sellers | Not publicly disclosed |
| Weekly or annual live-event count | Not publicly disclosed; hosted hours do not establish event count |
New accounts are not active users. Hosted hours are not a count of sellers or shows. A seller's time commitment includes work outside a livestream. Without measured assumptions and consistent definitions, these public anchors do not determine the missing totals.
Account growth and engagement#
Whatnot's January 2026 report provides these dated figures:
| Figure | Report-period context |
|---|---|
| 20M+ new accounts in 2025 | Sign-ups, not active users |
| 95 minutes/day average global app usage | Engagement, not MAU or sales conversion |
| 500K+ hosted live-show hours/week | Activity reported in the January 2026 report |
| 285% YoY first-time buyer growth | Growth, not an active-buyer total |
| 80%+ month-over-month retention | The report's retention measure |
| One in eight sellers full time | Historical seller-intensity share |
| 23 hours/week seller time commitment | Includes managing the business, not only going live |
The August 7 announcement adds that more than 650,000 people were joining each week, the share earning a full-time living had grown 25% year over year, and the number of sellers above $1M in lifetime sales had more than doubled. These growth statements do not supply a new absolute count of active sellers or a new absolute full-time share.
Monthly visitor estimate context#
Ecommerce Bonsai cites Similarweb for 7.6M whatnot.com visits in January 2025. This remains a dated third-party web-traffic estimate. It is not a company-disclosed MAU figure, app-user count or current monthly visitor total.
Historical third-party website traffic
7.6M visits
January 2025 whatnot.com visits, attributed to Similarweb by Ecommerce Bonsai. Not unique app users or current MAU.
Cumulative orders#
On June 18, 2026, Whatnot announced one billion cumulative orders. The same announcement described fashion as its largest category by order volume and reported more than 20 items sold per second. Keep these as dated company statements; items and orders are not interchangeable. Whatnot's order milestone.
Company-disclosed June 2026 milestone
1B cumulative orders
A cumulative milestone announced June 18, 2026, not an annual order count or an extrapolated September total.
Market share#
Whatnot's January 2026 report describes an estimated $22B live-shopping market across North America and Europe and reports nearly 60% share for Whatnot. This is company-reported context. The comparable basis between the market estimate, share and annual GMV is not clearly established here; do not calculate share by dividing the reported annual GMV by the market estimate.
The share is not an independently audited revenue, profit or active-user share. No additional percentage range is inferred.
Public growth timeline#
| Date | Public metric | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2020-03 | About $30K monthly GMV roughly three months after launch | TechCrunch YC W20 |
| 2021-03 | $20M Series A; 15 employees | PRNewswire |
| 2021-09 | $150M Series C at $1.5B valuation; 70 employees | PRNewswire |
| 2022-07 | $260M Series D at $3.7B valuation; 2021 sales grew 20x YoY | TechCrunch |
| 2024-10 | $2B+ live-sales GMV YTD; 175K livestream hours/week; top 500 sellers at $1M+ | Whatnot 2024 report PDF / TechCrunch |
| 2025-01 | $265M Series E at $4.97B valuation; $3B 2024 live sales | TechCrunch |
| 2025-10 | $225M Series F at $11.5B valuation; $6B+ 2025 live sales YTD | Whatnot / Crunchbase News |
| 2026-01 | $8B 2025 live sales; 20M+ new accounts; 95 min/day average time spent; nearly 60% North America and Europe live-shopping market share | Whatnot 2026 report / Whatnot careers |
| 2026-06 | 1B cumulative orders; fashion largest by order volume; 20+ items/second sold | Whatnot one-billion-orders post |
| 2026-08 | $545M Series G; $20B valuation; approximately $1.5B total funding; first-half 2026 GMV above $8B | Whatnot / Inc. |
What this means for sellers#
Company growth provides context for buyer attention and competition. It does not tell a particular seller which time, category or promotion will work next week.
| Seller decision | Useful next step |
|---|---|
| When to go live | Compare dated category evidence, current competition and your own repeat results. |
| Whether to promote | Review impressions, sustained watchers and buyer action around the promoted moment. |
| How to read performance | Keep public company figures separate from your own account analytics. |
| How to encourage repeat visits | Give buyers a clear reason to follow, bookmark and return. |
Continue with Best Time to Go Live on Whatnot, Whatnot Seller Analytics, or Seller Intelligence.
Read the market around the growth story
FAQ#
What was Whatnot GMV in 2024 and 2025?#
The reported historical live-sales figures are $3B in 2024 and $8B in 2025. First-half 2026 GMV exceeded $8B. Keep those reporting periods separate.
What is Whatnot's revenue?#
There is no verified FY2025 recognized revenue figure established here. Whatnot's reported outlook was to exceed $1B in annual revenue in 2026; that outlook is not an achieved annual result. See the revenue section and its source above.
What is Whatnot's effective take rate or average order value?#
Neither realized company-wide take rate nor AOV is publicly disclosed in the verified sources reviewed here. Published seller fees are not the same as a realized company-wide rate.
How many active buyers, users or sellers does Whatnot have?#
No verified period-defined totals are established here. Sign-ups, buyer-growth rates and hosted hours do not determine monthly or annual active counts.
How many live events happen each week?#
The January 2026 report's 500K+ weekly hosted hours is not an event count. The sources reviewed do not establish a comparable weekly or annual show total.
How many orders has Whatnot processed?#
Whatnot announced one billion cumulative orders on June 18, 2026. This is a historical milestone, not an updated September count.
What is Whatnot's valuation and funding total?#
The August 2026 round was a $545M Series G at a $20B valuation, with approximately $1.5B total funding reported. The October 2025 $11.5B valuation is historical.
How many monthly visitors does Whatnot have?#
The retained estimate is 7.6M website visits in January 2025, attributed to Similarweb by Ecommerce Bonsai. It is not a current traffic estimate or an active-user count.
What is Whatnot's live-shopping market share?#
Whatnot reported nearly 60% in its January 2026 North America/Europe live-shopping context. Treat it as a dated company claim with a denominator caveat, not independent revenue-share verification.
